…'(Sinéad) now runs the most charming bed and breakfast and cookery school from her home, located in the Cotentin Peninsula, only 20kms from the ferry port of Cherbourg.  Guests can sign up for one to six-day courses, covering the basics of French home cooking while soaking in the French countryside and Sinéad’s infectious joie de vivre.  It’s the best of Irish hospitality and French cuisine in one!’  Easy Food magazine, February 2016

Once surrounded by wheat fields ‘La Blonderie’ was thereby given its name. Prior to the French Revolution in 1789 the property was called ‘Le Manoir de Benositville’, Benoistville Manor House, the occupants having their own pew in the village church! Aristocracy becoming unpopular in 1789, the main house was burnt by its owners in an attempt to prevent local peasants from taking it over. The name was changed that year in an attempt to take unawanted attention away from the house. The boulangerie  (bake house) was in fact built in that famous year – the date engraved on the main beam is still visible today. Unfortunately, during the Normandy landings of 1944, all local archives were destroyed during the bombing of Valognes, so information on the history of La Blonderie is fairly limited. We do know, however, that the main house was later renovated in 1812 (the date is also engraved on an oak beam in the dining room) and again by ourselves in 2000!

Located in converted barns in what once were the domestic living areas and hay lofts, across the garden from La Blonderie, the main house, our guest rooms are comfortable and attractively decorated, each with its own style. All have tea and coffee-making facilities, hairdryers, ample parking and free internet access. A perfect base for exploring the delights of Normandy, we encourage guests to stay for the six day course, alternating cookery days with days ‘off’ to visit the area or simply to enjoy the peace and quiet of La Blonderie. Most guests have become acquainted with three-legged Tom, the cat, Gina the Daschund and Java our mare.

Proud to be included in the Lonely Planet 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 and chosen among the best 200 guesthouses in France in 2013 (Figaro Magazine) La Blonderie can accommodate up to eight people comfortably in our renovated guest rooms.

Perfectly located for exploring Normandy we are

  • 75 minutes from OMAHA beach the American Cemetery
  • 45 minutes from UTAH beach and Sainte Mère Eglise
  • 1 hour from Bayeux, famous for its tapestry and untouched 18th century architecture
  • 2 hours from Le Mont St Michel
  • 1 hour by ferry from the channel island of Guernsey
  • 5 minutes from beautiful beaches and great hiking (Smuggler’s path)
  • 15 minutes from the Cap de La Hague, birthdplace of  impressionist artist Jean François Millet (The Angelus)


Renovated in 2009, the self-catering apartment, Le Fenil, where hay was once stored, now boasts two ensuite double/twin rooms, a spacious living area with fully-equipped kitchen and a deck with views over the Norman countryside – perfect for families or groups of four.

La Porte Bleue (The Blue Door) situated on the ground floor has its own front door and patio area. Once a stable for Java, our luisitanien horse, and in earlier times a sleeping area for staff, La Porte Bleue was renovated in 2011 and a kitchenette added in 2013.

The romantic Maid’s Quarters’- La Chambre de Bonne is located on the first floor of the barn conversion, has its own front door at the top of an outside granite stairs, typical of the area and was renovated in 2010. It has a standard double bed and ensuite bathroom aswell as a mezzanine area with a single bed – ‘little house on the Prairie’ may well spring to mind! While smaller than the other rooms, it has a certain charm and cosiness about it.


WIFI and parking available

French gites and cooking lessons